Parents’ Association and Parents’ Committee

The active involvement of parents in the life of the school is actively encouraged.  True education must be a three-way partnership between pupil-parent-teacher.

Ashton School for many years has also had an active Parents’ Association.  The Parents’ Association Committee, elected at an A.G.M. held in the autumn term, meets on a regular basis to discuss what is happening in the school and to plan events of social and educational interest for all parents.  The school principal and teachers’ representatives also attend meetings of the Parents’ Committee.

The Parents’ Committee consists of nine elected parents, the principal, deputy principal and two representatives of the teaching staff.   The members of the Parents’ Committee for 2013/2014 are  Stephanie Coughlan, Niamh Daly (secretary), Deidre Dorney, Mary Jermyn, Mary Krause, Pauline Meade (chairperson), Lucia O’Donovan, Kathleen Mullins, Anne Sampson, Shane Scanlan (teacher), Emer Burke (teacher), Adrian Landen (principal) and Anne Marie Hewison (deputy principal).

The Parents’ Committee may be contacted by sending an email to

Strategy for Improving Literacy and Numeracy (DES)

Revised Junior Certificate (NCCA)

Development Committee

Members of the Parents’ Committee are also members of the Ashton School Development Committee.  This Development Committee also has representatives from the Board of Management, the 3 main Protestant Churches in Cork, and the Ashton School Students’ Council.  The Development Committee raises funds to provide facilities for the school which might not be provided were the school to depend solely on funding from the Department of Education.   In recent years this committee has provided grants towards provision of a school librarian, laboratory assistant and upgrades of equipment in the computer room.  In 2012/2013 the Parents’ Association organised a number of very successful fund-raising events to raise money for the school development fund.