By Geraldine Collins on Jun 21, 2022.   No Comments

January 2022 Ashton School news.

Ashton School.

As we look forward in hope and anticipation of a more Covid-Free world in 2022, we will rely on science and the great work done in research and many other areas to care for us all. We wish all our readers a Happy, Peaceful and Healthy New Year!

Prize Day was held in November and the good work both academically, in sport, and many other areas was celebrated. The occasion was virtual again this year with a ‘small audience’ which added a sense of reality to it all. Mr Landen, assisted by Ms. Hewison, Mr. Ruttle and others introduced the occasion, with a brief summary of how the last twelve months have been in Ashton, given the difficult situation the whole country has found itself in.

Guest of Honour on the day was Taoiseach Mr. Micheal Martin T.D., a ‘neighbour from down the road’ in Ballinlough. He spoke about the many positive attributes of Ashton students, past and present. He spoke of Mary Elmes, who has a bridge named after her in the city, referencing a worthy quote about her being ‘Righteous among the nations’ for the outstanding work she did in saving the lives of so many young people from the death camps in World War 2. Mr. Landen thanked Mr. Martin for his input and good wishes to the students, and school cohort.

Prize winners were announced by Head Girl Alison Olaniran and Head Boy Aaron Bateman, in the various Year Groups, from First to Sixth Year. This was followed by individual award winners. The Rochelle Trophy for Junior Cycle Examination results was awarded to Roisin Quirke.

The Cox Perpetual Trophy for European Languages was awarded to Alicia Olaniran for the highest performance across two or more European languages. The Hipwell Trophy for Business Subjects was awarded to Ryan Fitzgerald. The Des Deasy Memorial Trophy for Engineering was awarded to Harry McDaid. The Burke Trophy for Technical Subjects was presented to Aaron Bateman. The Pfizer Perpetual Trophy for Leaving Certificate results in 2021 was awarded to Theo Hardwicke. Further presentations were made in other curricular areas including the award of the Corn Mhic Uistin for competence in Oral Irish to Jessica Young. Corn Amhrainingh was awarded jointly to Alicia Olaniran and Eve Drummond Mackrill for their work in Irish Language. The Shereen Gokul Trophy for Girl’s Hockey was presented to Rachel Young. In Boy’s Hockey, the Andrew Chambers Memorial Trophy was awarded to David Ruddock. The final awards were the Victor Bond Junior Student of the Year, which was awarded to Debbie McCarthy. The Senior School Student of the Year was presented to John Isaacs. Congratulations one and all.

Chairman of the Board of Management, Mr. John Deane then presented the final prize, the Hall of Fame Award 2021 to past pupil of Ashton, Alex Petcu. Alex has established himself both nationally and internationally as a percussionist. He currently teaches percussion at CIT Cork School of Music, having attained a Master of Science Degree in Physics at U.C.C., along with a Master of Arts Degree in Music Performance at C.I.T. School of Music. Alex regularly performs in orchestral settings and various ensembles, including the RTE Symphony, RTE Concert, Irish Chamber, Irish Baroque and Ulster Orchestras. Mr. Deane described Alex as having a Master of Arts Degree, ‘but more impressively he is undeniably a master of his Art’. A fitting and apt tribute. We salute you Alex Petcu, and your achievements.

 276 total views,  2 views today